Review: Shrove Tuesday @ Toa Payoh

Shrove Tuesday, I’ve always been hearing good reviews about its waffles, but have never actually gotten down to visiting it because it’s at Toa Payoh, and besides, I don’t always crave for waffles. I’m more of a pancake person, who ironically have eaten ALOT MORE WAFFLES than pancakes.

I’ve been to Shrove Tuesday twice before deciding to do a review on them. The first was with my friends cum colleagues on the last week of my internship, when we were given a 3 hour lunch break. No, more like when we gave ourselves a 3 hour lunch break.The second visit, was due to the fact that I bought a voucher fro Sugar App for the first visit, but didn’t get to use it because we got a 20% staff discount then!

If you haven’t already known, Shrove Tuesday is also known as PANCAKE DAY (okay justifies why I’m here), and it’s a day marked with feasting and celebration.

The Place

Shrove Tuesday is located about a 10 minutes walk from Toa Payoh Central, provided if you don’t lose your way. I would say it’s located at a relatively inconvenient location, unless you stay around the neighborhood. It’s situated along a row of shops, under a HDB block. The interior is rather cosy from the warm lights with the off white and orange paint work on the walls. Photo 17-11-14 3 32 38 pm The cafe might seem a little small, however, it’s able to house about 4-6 tables of 2 seater, a comfortable 4-seater and a huge brown table for large groups of people, which is behind the counter! The thing I loved about Shrove, is the pretty tiles on the tables. Photo 12-11-14 11 58 14 am This was my favorite thing in the entire cafe! Hahaha!  Photo 12-11-14 11 53 58 am And here’s a very good reminder for all of us when we are starting to feel guilty about our diet. Eat abs for abs! 

The Food

On both visits, I’ve only had their waffles. However, they do serve up a relatively wide range of sweets (desserts) and drinks. Besides waffles with ice cream, they do offer macarons and home-made cakes and desserts as well. They do also serve up 2 savory dishes, which are new on their menu, shown below! Photo 17-11-14 3 32 52 pmOn my first visit, I ordered a waffle and a scoop of Rocher (flavor of the day) ice cream for my lunch. Rocher is a flavor that is derived from the well-known ferrero rocher, with bits of nuts in the scoop of chocolate rocher-flavored ice cream. It’s easily a crowd pleaser. However, being a chocolate person, and one who likes ice cream with “things in it”, for the crunch, I find that Shrove is unable to cater to my needs well enough. HAHAHA! They mainly serve up flavors that tend more to the fruity ones like raspberry, durian, or the more common ones such as Vanilla or chocolate. If you’re a fan of Pistachio, you’ll be glad to hear that they do have that flavor. Unfortunately, I’m not much of a fan.

Here’s our waffle party:Photo 12-11-14 12 46 51 pm The Madagascar Vanilla, which is basically just vanilla. Photo 12-11-14 12 08 46 pm Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetI ordered a peanut butter fudge cake ($3), because it’s PEANUT BUTTER! It’s a really really small serving, which i didn’t mind at all, however, the cake was way too dry.

On my first visit, I was not able to tell how good Shrove’s waffles really are, because it’s been a long while since I had waffles, and that, I’m really not a huge fan of waffles. However, I visited Shrove again a week later, after my trip to Les Patisseries. We had their signature Horffles, which we thought were not too good, and this time round, the waffles here stood out in stark contrast. The waffles from Shrove are really good, the right amounts of fluffy, and soft.

Photo 17-11-14 3 33 55 pmJust like the first time, I had some difficulties trying to choose the flavor that entices me. We got the Mao Shan Wang ice cream after the staff’s recommendations. I thought the ice cream was great, really flavorful, however, as we know that the taste of durian can get overpowering, this scoop of ice cream kinda masked the taste of the waffle as well. So if you’re looking to taste the waffle as well as the ice cream itself, I would not recommend this! 

Closing Remarks

It’s been a while since I’ve had waffles, and Shrove’s waffles definitely did not disappoint. However, I wouldn’t say it’s a must try, especially since there are so many places serving up waffles right now, and these did not exactly wow me. Maybe I need a few more bad experiences before I learn to appreciate these waffles from Shrove Tuesday.

It’s worth a visit if you are around the area, but not so much that you have to make a special trip down to try them!

How to get there?

Blk 94 Toa Payoh Lor 4 #01-32 Singapore 310094

10 Minutes walk from Toa Payoh Central

Opening hours

Sun – Thu: 10:00am – 10:00pm

Fri – Sat: 10:00am – 11:00pm

2 thoughts on “Review: Shrove Tuesday @ Toa Payoh”

Leave a comment